skip to content

University of Cambridge Conservation Research Institute

 

Early Career Researcher Programme 2018/19


Friday 12th October, Meet the Researcher

Friday 19th October, Grant Writing Workshop - Professor Bhaskar Vira

Friday 26th October, Community and Social Diversity, Helen Anthem and Rob Small, Fauna and Flora

Friday 2 November, Facilitation Skills Workshop - Dr Mary Beth Benbenek, Researcher Developer

Tuesday 13 November,  Leadership Talk: Charlotte Payne in conversation with Professor Julia Jones. Professor Jones selected key moments from her research career, following the Desert Island Discs format

Friday 16 November,  Visual Data - providing a visual impact with your research - Mr Toby Smith, Environmental Photojournalist. Workshop on how to get the best visual impact for your research

Friday 23rd November, Policy Analysis, Professor Laura Diaz Anadon. Workshop on how to examine and evaluate the available options to implement the goals generated by government policies and policy makers. 

Friday 30th November, Publishing for an Academic Audience, Dr Aiora Zabala. An intensive workshop around the key aspects of writing for an academic journal and audience.

Friday 18th January, Introduction to Governance, Fauna & Flora International- Laura Owens and Sara Calçada. The objectives for this session are to improve understanding of the basic components and principles of governance in a conservation context

Friday 25th January, Science and Policy- Parliamentary Office for Science and Technology, Dr Jonny Wentworth. POST’s main interest is in evidence based scrutiny and how academic research can support this.

Friday 1st February, Project Management Skills for Early Career Researchers, Hawa Sydique, UCCRI. Key project management skills - the practice of initiating, planning, executing, controlling, and closing the work of a team to achieve specific goals and meet specific success criteria at the specified time.

Friday 8th February, Writing for a non-academic audience, Workshop provided by online journal, The Conversation . The Conversation is an independent source of news and views, sourced from the academic and research community and delivered direct to the public. 

Friday 26 April, Modelling Policies for the Global Power Sector, Dr Pablo Salas

Friday 3rd May, The Cost of Conservation, James Vause. This session examined the balance of costs and benefits to different groups in society, and how this might be changed, helping to understand where protecting biodiversity can be made more incentive compatible.

Friday 10th May, R Codes and Remote Sensing, Dr Ruben Valbeuna. This was a four hour practical exercise with R codes related to the role of remote sensing in reducing emission from deforestation and forest degrada-tion (REDD). It provided first-hand experience in the application of R stats

Friday 17th May, Making a Bigger Impact with Public Engagement, Dr Lucinda Spokes. This session will looked at the what, why and how of public engagement and will introduce researchers to some of the ways to plan an effective public engagement project.

Friday 24 May, WordPress, Martin Lucas-Smith. This was  an introductory training session on WordPress, a popular system for creating professional-looking websites.